“Friends for Life” Connects Caring People To Lonely Seniors In Need

(Good News Network) In the United States, more than 11 million senior citizens live alone. Everyone should have someone in their world who cares, and that’s what our group Friends For Life is all about: people taking time to care for the elderly living alone, or in nursing homes who have no visitors. We demonstrate that people care. In Waco, Texas, we serve as legal guardians for people who are not able to make decisions for themselves. We find them safe places to live, make sure they are clothed and fed–even meet them at the emergency room at 2 a.m., if needed. It all started while I was visiting my father in the hospital one day when I heard a woman screaming.  I went to see what was wrong and found a woman who was close to ninety years old.  She was crying.  She said, “I’m dying and I don’t want to die alone, please don’t leave me!”

Read the rest of the story HERE>

Leave a Reply

